Campaign Launched to Establish Bharatpur City as Cycling Hub

Campaign Launched to Establish City as Cycling Hub

Bharatpur: The drive to designate Bharatpur as a cycling-centric city has been kick-started with fervor. Commencing during the Visit Bharatpur Year 2024, the initiative was inaugurated with a bustling cycle rally within Bharatpur, Chitwan. Pragya Smriti Pratisthan, renowned for its annual cycling competitions, orchestrated a grand cycle rally on the eve of the Pragya Memorial Cycling Tournament 2024’s third edition.

Mayor Renu Dahal of Bharatpur Metropolitan City graced the inauguration ceremony, setting off the rally from the Narayani River bank in Narayangadh, as stated by Pragya Smriti Pratisthan. In her address, Mayor Dahal articulated the city’s aspiration to reclaim its historical identity as a haven for cyclists. She emphasized the significance of imbuing the younger generation with an appreciation for bicycles, primarily through sports.

Mayor Dahal lauded the collaboration with Pragya Pratisthan, underscoring its instrumental role in fostering cycling sports and nurturing budding athletes, thereby synergizing cycling with tourism. She urged widespread support and cooperation for the campaign, highlighting the pivotal role of Bharatpur Visit Year 2024 in propelling tourism.

Under the banner of ‘Let’s Ride Cycle, Save the Environment, Stay Healthy’, the rally traversed through key landmarks, commencing at the Narayani River bank and concluding at the same point via Aanptari Chowk, Bishal Chowk, Central Bus Terminal, Hakim Chowk, Chaubiskothi, Shahid Chowk, and Pulchowk. Over 200 cyclists enthusiastically participated in the rally.

Santu Darai, the Programme Coordinator, announced that the third edition of the Pragya Memorial Cycling Tournament 2024 is scheduled for March 23rd, 2024, starting from Ganeshsthan in Bharatpur. The tournament, endorsed by the Nepal Cycling Association and Chitwan Bicycle Riders Club, promises substantial rewards, with the top three contenders receiving Rs. 50,000, Rs. 40,000, and Rs. 30,000 respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *