Mumbai Indians Suffer Third Consecutive Defeat in IPL 2024 Under Captaincy of Hardik Pandya

Mumbai Indians Suffer Third Consecutive Defeat

Mumbai Indians, led by Hardik Pandya, suffered their third consecutive defeat in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024.

On Monday night, they were defeated by six wickets against Rajasthan Royals. Mumbai remains the only winless team in the ongoing IPL. Rajasthan achieved their target of 126 runs in 15.3 overs, losing 4 wickets in the process. Riyan Parag top-scored with 54 runs off 39 balls, including 5 fours and 3 sixes, while Yashasvi Jaiswal (10), Jos Buttler (14), Sanju Samson (13), and Ravichandran Ashwin (16) were also dismissed.

Mumbai’s bowlers, Mafakal and Akash Madhwal, took 1 and 3 wickets respectively. Before that, losing the toss and batting first on their home ground of Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai managed to score 125 runs, losing 9 wickets in 20 overs.

Mumbai’s captain, Hardik, scored the highest with 34 runs off 21 balls, while Tilak Varma contributed 32 runs off 29 balls, including 2 sixes. Ishan Kishan scored 16, while Rohit Sharma, David Brave, and Naman Dhir were dismissed for zero. Piyush Chawla scored 3, and Tim David scored 17 runs.

Rajasthan Royals’ Trent Boult took 3 wickets, conceding 22 runs in 4 overs, while Yuzvendra Chahal took 3 wickets, conceding 11 runs in 4 overs. Nadim Burgar and Avesh Khan took 1 wicket each.

Since this season, Hardik Pandya has been reinstated as Mumbai’s captain, replacing Rohit Sharma. Criticism has been drawn towards Hardik’s role in Indian cricket since leaving Gujarat Titans and joining Mumbai.

Today’s IPL match will be between Bangalore and Lucknow. Rajasthan leads with 6 points from 3 games, Kolkata is second with 4 points from 2 games, and Chennai is third with 4 points from 3 games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *